Light switch throttle at very low RPM's
  • jtroiano

Light switch throttle at very low RPM's

by jtroiano » Sat May 23, 2020 11:46 am

I have searched all over. 2019 CRF150R. Its jetted.(JD kit), G2 throttle tamer. No bog. Runs great. I have been wrenching are cars and bikes for 40 years.

Yes, girl friends bike. She came off a TTR125 and also has a CRF250L. (to heavy for her to pu all day).

It still has a very minor light switch effect when you roll on from idle to just off idle. She doesn't feel comfortable standing and is always in that range. Probably afraid of more throttle.

I've completely pull off the TPS and the light switch effect is gone. Timing advance is also gone, which isnt a huge deal. I've adjusted as far as I can so it doesn't send the signal to soon. I don't know Honda programming. Its probably a progressive advance. Yes the bike rips. If it was a bigger frame. I'd buy one for my self.

Any ideas?? On off switch for the TPS?? Like a MAP switch?? Can the jetting still be off? It really runs good. No bog. I'm 200 pounds and it will haul me around no problem.

Thanks Jon
    JimDirt

Re: Light switch throttle at very low RPM's

by JimDirt » Sat May 23, 2020 5:19 pm

Welcome to the site !! \:D/

So what is it you are trying to achieve ?? , the ability to have her ride it mellow , and for you to jump on it and haul ???

If so , then I guess you would wire up a switch to bypass the TPS , kind of like what people (like me) do with the 450X with the Pink Wire Mod ........ That said , if she is still struggling with it , then what I would suggest is to go down 1 tooth on the rear , this will make it a little less sensitive on the bottom end , it will increase the top speed , but I don't think she needs to worry about that ......