2007 crf250r float height and carb setup questions
  • Devincijack91

2007 crf250r float height and carb setup questions

by Devincijack91 » Tue Aug 03, 2021 12:53 pm

Hi there ,
    Powersports newbie here, although I have some automotive background.
    I recently bought a new to me 2007 crf250r with a claimed 64 hrs, to teach myself about carbs ( careful what you wish for...)
    Bike ran fine on the flat tarmac road I tested it on. Once I took the bike out for a ride on a rough fsr it started bogging out / blubbering especially on inclines . This problem got worse when I went on track , landing on the middle of tabletops it would stutter/ bog , rolling through whoops on the uphill it would stutter and if I leaned it over too much on berms it would also cut out.

So I decided to pull out the carb , before doing so I checked the AP timing , how strong should the squirt be ? From what I can tell it has the updated AP pump kit from Honda and a 70 leak jet. The squirt misses just the slide but lands inside the rubber boot between the carb and engine intake . Should it be making it to the R/H intake valve?

I found some dirt in the float bowl and the o rings on the brass fuel L piece going into the carb were completely deteriorated , ordered a full carb rebuild kit and hoping this is the issue.

My next question is float height , the manual says 6 mm and with the tip of a vernier gauge ( no access to float gauge) mine was 8mm but the tang looked level to the float and the mould line on the float was parallel with the gasket line ( how I understand Floats
    should be set as a base point if no measurement can be obtained )
    Setting the float to 6 mm it seems really high and on an incline, the the tang bent down at quite an angle. Does anyone know what these should look like if the top of there heads? I have the 40 mm carb so original , wondering if I have a non standard float or float needle....

Thanks for any advice on float height and leak jet spray strength