training and arm pump
  • dread_i

training and arm pump

by dread_i » Thu Oct 08, 2009 7:17 am

In june this year i fractured my proximal humerus, this lead to me having three months off my bike and out of the gym, when i returned to riding i noticed that i did not get anywhere near as much arm pump. now i'm back into my gym routine i have noticed that the arm pump is beginning to return. i'm training two to three times a week just using weights as i do my cardio training on a road bike, i've been training for about 5 years using about 6 different programmes that i rotate during the year. has anyone else noticed after a break in training that arm pump has been greatly reduced also does anyone know of any motocross specific programmes, i've had a look around the web but not found anything that i think would be an improvement from what i'm already doing.
    05 crf250r
    marks crf

by marks crf » Thu Oct 08, 2009 3:05 pm

i bmx freeride and downhill mountainbike ride with a couple of mates on our dirt bmx track in the bush.

i believe its a good form of training cause:
    you get a cardio workout

you use the same muscles u use on a mx bike

you improve skills and can apply them to mx
    (i can whip good now from bmx)

builds confidence, and since riding bmx since i was 12 my arms are use to it and it helps reduce arm pump in mx

and also easier and quiter to ride than a mx bike so you can ride anywhere
    my #00

5th gear PINNED on the 250
    6th gear PINNED on the 125

My van is the only TRUE factory rig
  • dread_i

by dread_i » Fri Oct 09, 2009 3:08 am

I also grew up riding bmx and a lot of downhill, unfortunately since getting an mx bike the others have just been gathering dust due to having a family and having just started my own building co. i just about find time for gym, road riding and a day of mx at the weekend.

i do miss the days of summer holidays and no responsiblty!!