250f rebuild/shops in Vancouver, Canada
  • JDMobesity

250f rebuild/shops in Vancouver, Canada

by JDMobesity » Wed Oct 17, 2018 1:22 am

I'm quite new to the moto scene and I've got a '09 CRF250R in need of what I believe is a top end rebuild. I've never gotten a rebuild before so I'm unfamiliar with the process and the steps to take in getting this done in a safe and efficient manner. I was wondering if anyone knew of any reputable shops in or near Vancouver, Canada (where I live) that could look at my bike and help me out with my situation. About 6 months ago I got an inspection on the bike and the shop told me that my cam bearings had "spun in their journals", requiring the installation of a new cam along with the rebuild. I haven't had anything done to the bike since the inspection so the motor is still in this state. She's running but I'm afraid that the motor is a ticking time bomb and would like a shop to take a look at it, let me know what needs to be replaced and get the rebuild done without me worrying about getting taken advantage of. I'm currently out of the country in school but have plans to get this done once I'm back. Any tips, recommendations, or help would be greatly appreciated!
    JimDirt

Re: 250f rebuild/shops in Vancouver, Canada

by JimDirt » Wed Oct 17, 2018 3:32 pm

Welcome to the site !! \:D/

If the shop did do a rebuild and you have the receipt , it should tell you what exactly they did and did not do , if you can give us a idea of what exactly was done with the "rebuild" then we can suggest what to have them look into , so your not replacing unnecessary things that do nothing but cost extra ........ If the engine was actually "rebuilt" and done correctly , and you have not put a ton of hours or beat it to death , then I would not think that you will need much if anything done at all .... again , it is pertinent as to what actually was done and how many hours the bike has had on it since this work was supposedly done ....